2013 Debut-litzer Prize Finalists

debutlitzer announcement

Late Night Library is proud to announce the finalists for the 2013 Debut-litzer Prizes! We received a multitude of submissions, and our volunteer readers spent months choosing the final nine. We’re just glad we get to leave the final decision-making process to our panel of literary gurus, judges Paul Collins (nonfiction), Leslie Jamison (fiction), and Traci Brimhall (poetry). Gratitude in advance to these three writers for all their hard work reading and reviewing the finalists.

We’d like to extend a massive thank you to everyone who submitted their debut books. To you, we say, this is only the beginning.

The 2013 Debut-litzer Finalists


BkMk Press




Garbage Night at the Opera
by Valerie Fioravanti
BkMk Press





by Anakana Schofield

Favorite Monster




Favorite Monster
by Sharma Shields
Autumn House Press


Charms Against Lightning



Charms Against Lightning
by James Arthur
Copper Canyon Press

When My Brother was an Aztec




When My Brother Was an Aztec
by Natalie Diaz
Copper Canyon Press

Your Invitation to a Modest Breakfast



Your Invitation to a Modest Breakfast
by Hannah Gamble
Fence Books

Creative Nonfiction:

Dust to Dust



Dust to Dust
by Benjamin Busch

Extraordinary Theory of Objects



An Extraordinary Theory of Objects
by Stephanie LaCava





Looking for Esperanza
by Adriana Paramo
Benu Press


A heartfelt congratulations to all of our finalists! Award winners will be announced this October. In addition to a $1,000 cash prize, the winner of each category will be featured on an episode of Late Night Conversation, and their books will be featured in a discussion between the judges and the readers on Late Night Debut. Stayed tuned for these podcasts in December.


Thanks for listening, and most of all, for reading.